Act 16 of Louisiana’s 2020 Second Extraordinary Legislative Session enacted a Sales Tax Holiday to be held November 20 and 21, 2020. Sales of tangible personal property sold by dealers to customers during this time are to be reported on Schedule 2 using code 5088. Dealers filing sales tax returns are to report this on their November 2020 sales tax return. For more information regarding the Sales Tax Holiday, please visit the Louisiana Remote Sellers Commission website at https://remotesellers.louisiana.gov to review Remote Sellers Information Bulletin 20-004 on this topic.
ST. CHARLES PARISH SCHOOL BOARD APPROVES LOCAL SALES TAX HOLIDAY
Local Sales Taxes will be Suspended in Conjunction with State Sales Tax Holiday.
You may beginning filing returns with the Remote Sellers Commission beginning at 9:00 a.m. CDT, Monday, August 3, 2020.
Please use the Sales Tax Rate Lookup link on the Links page of this site. The link will take you the login page of the Louisiana Local Sales Tax Board Sales Tax. You will need to create a login to access the lookup tool. The lookup includes jurisdiction codes, domicile codes, tax rates and exemptions. Lookups can be done for a single address, bulk addresses or by coordinates.
Details for the bulk data upload can be found after logging into your Remote Sellers Commission account. Go to IMPORT RETURNS; and then click VIEW IMPORT INSTRUCTIONS. The format must be followed exactly for successful uploading. Do not include transactions or collections prior to July 1, 2020.
Beginning July 1, 2020 remote sellers who meet the threshold for economic nexus ($100,000 annual sales or 200 transactions annually delivered in Louisiana) have 30 days to apply for registration with the Louisiana Sales and Use Tax Commission for Remote Sellers. Within 60 days of reaching the economic threshold, remote sellers must begin collecting state and local sales and use tax based upon actual applicable bases and rates on sales for delivery into Louisiana.